Skip to main content

About OPEC

The Story of OPEC

The Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) is a permanent, intergovernmental Organization, created at the Baghdad Conference on September 10–14, 1960, by Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia and Venezuela. The five Founding Members were later joined by:

OPEC had its headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland, in the first five years of its existence. This was moved to Vienna, Austria, on September 1, 1965.

OPEC’s objective is to co-ordinate and unify petroleum policies among Member Countries, in order to secure fair and stable prices for petroleum producers; an efficient, economic and regular supply of petroleum to consuming nations; and a fair return on capital to those investing in the industry.


For more information, please visit:

OPEC Members

Qatar (1961)
Terminated its membership in January 2019
Indonesia (1962)
Suspended its membership in January 2009, reactivated it in January 2016, but decided to suspend it again in November 2016
Libya (1962)
United Arab Emirates (1967)
Nigeria (1971)
Ecuador (1973)
Suspended its membership in December 1992, reactivated it in October 2007, but decided to withdraw its membership effective 1 January 2020
Angola (2007)
Gabon (1975)
Terminated its membership in January 1995 but rejoined in July 2016
Equatorial Guinea (2017)
Congo (2018)

Member States Flags